Chair Wm. Weston J. Newton

First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Katherine E. (Katie) Arrington Gary E. Clary MaryGail K. Douglas Phyllis J. Henderson Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Mandy Powers Norrell J. Todd Rutherford Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

William K. (Bill) Bowers

William M. "Bill" Hixon

Robert L. Ridgeway III

James E. Smith Jr.

Edward R. Tallon Sr.

Robert Q. Williams

Neal Collins

Raye Felder

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Education and Cultural Subcommittee

April 25, 2017 at 9:00 am

Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.8, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on *Committee Postings and Reports*, then under *House Standing Committees* click on *Legislative Oversight*. Then, click on *Video Archives* for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

Attendance

I. The Education and Cultural Subcommittee meeting was called to order by Chair James E. Smith, Jr., on Tuesday, April 25, 2017. All members were present for some or all of the meeting, except Representative Tommy M. Stringer.

Minutes

- I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings. It is the practice of the Legislative Oversight Committee to provide minutes for its subcommittee meetings.
- II. Representative Jefferson moved to approve the minutes from the Subcommittee's meeting on April 18, 2017. A roll call vote was held, and the motion passed.

Representative Jefferson's motion to approve the minutes from the April 18, 2017, meeting:	Yea	Nay	Not Voting: Present	Not Voting: Absent
Raye Felder	✓			
Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.	✓			
James E. Smith, Jr.	✓			
Tommy Stringer				✓

Discussion of the Department of Archives and History

- I. Chairman Smith reminded the agency representatives that they remained under oath. Director Emerson made a presentation about the laws pertaining to the agency and the agency's recommendations to the Subcommittee. This presentation is available online for the public to view. Director Emerson responded to Members' questions on his presentation and other issues, including:
 - a. Agency's relationships with others such as ETV and Virtual SC;
 - b. Fees for classes and workshops;
 - c. Electronic records; and
 - d. Constituents' comments to the Subcommittee.

Chairman Smith placed Mr. Delbert Singleton, Director of the Procurement Service Division of the State Fiscal Accountability Authority and the Authority Secretary, under oath. Mr. Singleton responded to Members' questions about procurement. Also present at the meeting was Mr. Mike Spicer, Chief Procurement Officer for Information Technology.

While testimony was not received from these individuals, also present at the meeting were the following representatives from the Department of Health and Environmental Control (DHEC): Ms. Angela Wertz, Compliance Officer and Ms. Leigh Ford, Director, Strategy and Continuous Improvement.

II. There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.